The "Let Them" Theory

You have no idea how much energy you're burning through...

The fastest way to take control of your life is to stop controlling everyone around you. You have no idea how much time and energy and attention you are wasting trying to control other people. You have no idea how much energy you are burning through thinking about, worrying about, obsessing about what other people are doing, what they're not doing, what they're feeling. All of which you have zero control over. And so the “let them” theory is this simple theory that I credit my daughter with teaching me, that has created so much peace in my life. Because, like every other human being on the planet, I had no idea how many opinions, how much frustration and expectations I had about what other people were doing or what they should be doing. Like, it's just unreal how obsessed we all are with everybody else and what they should be doing and what they're not doing...

Mel Robbins, Podcast Host, Author, Motivational Speaker

Today’s Question: What will happen if you just “let them” do whatever it is you fear? What’s the worst that can happen? What’s the best?

Reply

or to participate.